SIYSSA was well represented this year, and we are proud! We would like to recognize and congratulate the following kids on earning spots on the AIM Annual Teams:

Noah Nolen - Jr. Gold - SI Trap
Cole Gordon - Sub Jr. - Waltonville Trapshooting

Briar Laumbattus - Jr. - Marissa
Hayden Hemrich - Jr. - Blaze Orange
Landon Dent - Sub Jr. - Waltonville Trapshooting
Braxton Dent - Pre Sub - Waltonville Trapshooting

Gregor Garrett - Jr. Gold - Foxfire
Kolby Darnell - Jr. - Foxfire
Ethan Carruthers - Jr. - Trico


Hamilton County Fox Fire Wins both Divisions at 2nd Annual SIYSSA Trap Shooting Invitational
September 27-28, 2014

SPARTA, IL- The Southern Illinois Youth Sport Shooting Association (SIYSSA) hosted its second annual Invitational at the World Shooting & Recreational Complex in Sparta on Saturday and Sunday, September 27-28, 2014. The two-day event attracted 164 Junior and Senior High athletes from Southern Illinois and Missouri to compete for awards in both individual and team categories. 200 single targets were shot on Saturday with handicap and doubles wrapping up Sunday's activities. 

Hamilton County Fox Fire won both the Senior High and Junior High Divisions allowing them to take home the Shawnee travelling trophies for both. Hamilton County Fox Fire's Trase Smith, Garrett Craddock, Jake Whipple, Sean Paul Trotter, and Tyler Morrison broke 959/1000 targets to be named the Champion Senior High team. For Junior High, Fox Fire's Kolby Darnell, Cole McMahon, Sky Braden, Kolten Phillips, and Jacob White broke 846/1000 targets to earn Champion for their division. For complete results.

2013-14 Awards Banquet
June 26, 2014

The Southern Illinois Youth Sport Shooting Association (SIYSSA) honored its top 20 of 190 trapshooting athletes at the World Shooting & Recreational Complex on Thursday, June 26. These athletes had competed since September, 2013 against their peers from ten teams from Southern Illinois in Amateur Trapshooting Association (ATA) registered competitions at the shooting complexes at Sparta and Rend Lake. Awards were given to the top shooters in Junior (age over 15,) Sub-Junior (age under 15,) and Lady Divisions. For complete results of all 190 SIYSSA athletes 

Junior Gold Team

Luke Switzer (Okawville Clay Crushers) Champion High Overall 

Tyler Morrison (Hamilton County Fox Fire) Junior 1st Place

Garrett Craddock (Hamilton County Fox Fire) Junior 2nd Place

Brittany Mehner (Waterloo Lead Heads) Top Lady

Hank Garver (Trico Trap Team) Junior 3rd Place

Sub Junior Gold Team

Remington Carrell (Hamilton County Fox Fire) Sub Junior 1st Place

Austin Ebers (Trico Trap Team) Sub Junior 2nd Place

Landon Webb (Hamilton County Fox Fire) Sub Junior 3rd Place

Drake Frazier (Southern Illinois Sportsman -West Frankfort) Sub Junior 4th Place

Caroline Stratman (Waterloo Lead Heads) Lady 2nd Place

Junior Silver Team

Trase Smith (Hamilton County Fox Fire) Junior 4th Place

Dalton Eilers (Trico Trap Team)

Brandon Froemling (Trico Trap Team)

Ben Grubbs (Southern Illinois Sportsman-Christopher)

Lee Queen (Okawville Clay Crushers)

Sub Junior Silver Team

Ryan Brockett (Hamilton County Fox Fire) 

Ian Lawrence (Southern Illinois Sportsman-Herrin)

Tyler Wellen (Hamilton County Fox Fire)

Chance Gaebe (Okawville Clay Crushers)

Tristan McPeak (Hamilton County Fox Fire)

Also at the event, Emily Zollner, ATA AIM National Coordinator, and Troy Kueker, ATA AIM Marketing Director, presented SIYSSA with a plaque honoring SIYSSA for their dedication and support of the Amateur Trapshooting Association's youth AIM program.

SIYSSA, a non-profit corporation formed in 2012, is dedicated to promoting trapshooting and other shooting activities for the youth of Southern Illinois. SIYSSA supports the activities of each member team by encouraging safety, good sportsmanship, and responsibility. SIYSSA is committed to developing youth trap shooters, age 5th-12th grade, to compete both individually and through team effort by hosting monthly trap shoots in the Fall and Spring of each year.

AIM Recognizes SIYSSA

Left to Right:

Todd Tracy, President, SIYSSA

Emily Zollner

AIM National Coordinator

Troy Kueker

AIM Marketing Director

Junior Gold Team

Left to Right:

Luke Switzer

Hank Garver

Brittany Mehner

Garrett Craddock

Tyler Morrison

Sub Junior Gold Team

Left to Right:

Austin Ebers

Landon Webb

Remington Carrell


Caroline Stratman

Drake Frazier

Junior Silver Team

Left to Right:

Ben Grubbs

Trase Smith

Brandon Froemling

Dalton Eilers


Lee Queen

Sub Junior Silver Team

Left to Right:

Tristan McPeak

Chance Gaebe

Ian Lawrence

Ryan Brockett

Tyler Wellen